""
""

Wild for Animals

January - December | Dates/times will vary | Free with Zoo admission

Mark your calendars for these upcoming activities at the Detroit Zoo in conjunction with national and international species recognition days and seasonal celebrations with the animals. Many of these events will include the opportunity to speak with animal care staff and take part in hands-on learning activities.


A lion, licking his chops

Saturday, August 10

World Lion Day


Lizard

Wednesday, August 14

World Lizard Day


Vulture

Saturday, September 7

International Vulture Awareness Day


A red panda

Saturday, September 21

International Red Panda Day

Details to come.

Details to come.


A rhino

Sunday, September 22

World Rhino Day

Details to come.

Details to come.


A gorilla looking at the camera

Tuesday, September 24

World Gorilla Day

Details to come.

Details to come.


A chimpanzee sitting on a pumkin

Wednesday, October 16 and Saturday, October 26

Smashing Pumpkins

Details to come.

Details to come.


A wolf looking at the camera

Sunday, October 20

National Wolf Awareness Week

Details to come.

Details to come.


An emerald monitor (lizard) on a rock

Monday, October 21

Reptile Awareness Day

Details to come.

Details to come.


A bison

Saturday, November 2

National Bison Day

Details to come.

Details to come.


""

Friday, November 15

America Recycles Day

Details to come.

Details to come.


A man watching penguins swim and waddle

Friday, December 27

National Visit the Zoo Day

Details to come.

Details to come.

 

 

* Dates may be subject to change.

 


Past Events

A bison

November 3

National Bison Day


""

November 15

America Recycles Day


A man watching penguins swim and waddle

December 27

National Visit the Zoo Day


Piping Plover

Saturday, January 5

National Bird Day


A arctic fox with it's white winter coat, standing in the snow

Wednesday, January 9

Green Day


""

Thursday, February 7 and Saturday, February 9

Heart Fest


A polar bear swimming underwater

Saturday, February 23 and Wednesday, February 27

International Polar Bear Day


A cute little frog

Wednesday, March 20

World Frog Day


Seal

Friday, March 22

International Seal Day


Bears

Thursday, April 4

National Bear Day


Birdwatching book and binoculars

Saturday, April 13

Citizen Science Day


Penguins

Thursday, April 25

World Penguin Day


A bird standing on a pole

Sunday, April 28

World Migratory Bird Day


A salamander on some pebbles

Saturday, May 4

Salamander Saturday


A snail on a log

Friday, May 17

Endangered Species Day


Turtle

Thursday, May 23

World Turtle Day


Otter

Wednesday, May 29

World Otter Day


A picture of a little girl with a butterfly resting on her hand!

Saturday, June 1

Butterfly Education and Awareness Day


Polar bear

Monday, June 10

World Oceans Day


A giraffe

Friday, June 21

World Giraffe Day


Camel

Saturday, June 22

World Camel Day


Chimpanzee

Sunday, July 14

World Chimpanzee Day


Rattle-snake

Tuesday, July 16

World Snake Day