Yoga at the Zoo

Select Mondays in July and August | 8 – 9 a.m. Select Tuesdays and Thursdays in July and August | 6 – 7 p.m.

Members: $25 per session • $100 for 5-session punch pass (Punch Pass SOLD OUT)

General public: $30 per session • $125 for 5-session punch pass (Punch Pass SOLD OUT)

The Detroit Zoo is going Zen with Yoga at the Zoo. Grab your mat, fill your reusable water bottle, and get ready to relax while mastering a variety of new poses, led by one of our certified instructors.

 
What Can I Expect During Yoga at the Zoo?

  • Meditative flow that is suitable for all skill levels
  • A featured animal habitat or area of the Zoo for each session
  • A habitat chat about the featured animal habitat

Advance ticket purchase is required as space is limited, and the event may sell out.

Yoga sessions are coed and limited to guests ages 13 years and older. Guests under the age of 18 require parental consent to participate. Yoga at the Zoo is a rain or shine event. The rain location will be the Events Pavilion, located next to the Ford Education Center. All locations are subject to change.

What’s New at Yoga at the Zoo 2022?

New featured habitats and Zoo locations have been added to this year’s schedule! We are also now offering a multi-session punch pass for this Yoga season.

Yoga at the Zoo Tickets

A la Carte Sessions: Members • $25 | General public • $30

  • Yoga admission
  • Parking
  • Complimentary Detroit Zoo admission ticket (handed out upon completion of session)

5-Class Punch Pass: Members • $100 | General public • $125 (SOLD OUT)

  • Admission to any 5 Yoga sessions of your choosing, can include both morning and/or evening classes
  • Parking
  • Complimentary Detroit Zoo admission ticket (handed out upon completion of each session, 5 tickets total)

How Does Yoga at the Zoo Support the Detroit Zoological Society (DZS) Mission?

By attending events hosted by the Detroit Zoo, you are directly supporting the DZS mission of Celebrating and Saving Wildlife and Wild Places. Your event admission provides support so that DZS can continue to demonstrate extraordinary leadership in conservation, animal welfare, education, and environmental sustainability.

Not only is yoga a healthy form of exercise, but it is also a chance to connect with your surroundings. By focusing each yoga session on a particular habitat, you are directly connecting with the animal stories at the Detroit Zoo.
 

 

2022 YOGA AT THE ZOO SCHEDULE

JULY
Morning sessions

 

Monday, July 11, 8 – 9 a.m. – Grizzly bears

Monday, July 18, 8 – 9 a.m. – Tiger

Monday, July 25, 8 – 9 a.m. – Wolverine and bison

 

Evening sessions

 

Tuesday, July 5, 6 – 7 p.m. – Japanese Macaques

Thursday, July 7, 6 – 7 p.m. – Boardwalk

Tuesday, July 12, 6 -7 p.m. – Beavers

Tuesday, July 19, 6 – 7 p.m. – Red Pandas

Thursday, July 28, 6 -7 p.m. – Zebras

 

 

 

 

AUGUST
Morning sessions

 

Monday, August 1, 8 – 9 a.m. – Great Apes

Monday, August 8, 8 – 9 a.m. – Arctic Ring of Life

Monday, August 15, 8 -9 a.m. – Wolves

Monday, August 22, 8 – 9 a.m. – Rhinoceros

Monday, August 29, 8 -9 a.m. – Lions

 

Evening sessions

 

Tuesday, August 2, 6 -7 p.m. – Giraffes

Tuesday, August 9, 6 – 7 p.m. – Japanese Macaques

Tuesday, August 16, 6 -7 p.m. – Camels

Tuesday, August 23, 6 -7 p.m. – Vultures and storks

Tuesday, August 30, 6 – 7 p.m. – Red Pandas